Register Now
FREE Webinar | September 28, 2017

Drowning in Data: Monitoring Harmful Algal Blooms

Thursday, September 28, 2017
11 am PDT | 12 pm MDT | 1 pm CDT | 2 pm EDT

Interpreting algae monitoring data is not straightforward, even with the most sophisticated instruments at our fingertips. Examples of challenges include:

  • Processing and interpreting large datasets
  • Working with mismatched timestamps and data from multiple sources
  • Collating data which exist in different file formats
  • Correcting water quality signals to compensate for sensor drift and step changes

On Thursday, September 28th, join Dr. Stephanie A. Smith of YSI, a Xylem Brand, and Chuck Springer of Aquatic Informatics as they review best practices for managing and interpreting algae data. They will demonstrate how spreadsheet tools can be used to process data and will also discuss common challenges with data management in spreadsheets. The webinar will also include information about the limitations of sensor technologies for describing algal biology in units such as CFU/ml and a discussion on how software can be leveraged to estimate some of these values.

Webinar Highlights

Stephanie and Chuck will describe solutions for managing data from discrete environmental samples, multi-parameter sondes, and laboratory analyses. Learn how to quickly identify data outliers, review associated metadata, and apply drift corrections across disparate files generated by monitoring tools. 

Register now for this FREE webinar to gain a better understanding of best practices for managing and interpreting algae data. Many of these same techniques can be used across a variety of parameters and monitoring applications.


Providing your email will ensure you receive Aquatic Informatics news, product updates, and industry resources. You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy
Dr. Stephanie A. Smith is a YSI Product Manager. With a diverse background rooted in scientific training, Dr. Smith has spent her career following her interests in blue-green algae science and water quality.
Chuck Springer is a Technical Applications Specialist at Aquatic Informatics. Chuck has been managing water data for over a decade, and has previously managed a large state agency’s water database. He now tailors data management solutions to help clients turn raw data into actionable information.